Please meet our Board Members

President: Susan Myers

Susan Myers is the adoptive mother of two young adults, and has over 20 years of experience in the field of adoption.  She has a Master’s degree in Counseling as well as an MSW, and is a graduate of the Training for Adoption Competency (TAC)  Certificate program of the Center for Adoption Support and Education (C.A.S.E).   Susan is currently the District Supervisor for Adoptions from the Heart in Glastonbury.    Previously, she worked as a social worker and program manager for Lutheran Social Services in both New England and New York, and served as the director of the Lutheran Adoption Network for five years.

Vice President: Sandra Matlack

Sandra Matlack worked for the Department of Children and Families until her retirement several years ago. She was the Supervisor over the Interstate Compact Office and the Subsidy Office at the time of her retirement. Sandy was active in CCA for many years and has served us well as treasurer.

Treasurer: Natalie Jackson

Natalie Jackson is the Director of Adoption at Family & Children’s Agency (FCA), headquartered in Norwalk, CT with offices in Branford, CT and Harrison, NY. Natalie is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with 20 years of experience in child welfare. After working in foster care and early intervention she began her work in adoption at Spence Chapin in NY. Natalie returned to her home state of CT and joined the FCA team in 2011.

Communications & Publicity: Melanie Winkler

Melanie Winkler has been in private practice for almost ten years. She has a degree in Art Therapy and is a licensed Professional Counselor. Melanie has extensive experience working with foster and adopted persons, and she completed the University of Connecticut’s Clinical Issues in Adoption Post Master’s Certificate Program. She is a member of CT Counseling Association and the American Counseling Association.

Nominating Committee Chair & Court Liaison: Sandra Couillard

Sandra is Director of Adoption Services for Waterford Country School. She was formerly Executive Director of Connecticut Adoption Services. She has been working in the field of adoption in Connecticut for over 26 years. Sandra heads up the CT Collaboration of Private Adoption Agencies and is a member of the CT Adoption Community Network.

Membership Chair: Rachael Kriedel

Rachael Kriedel is a mother of two and the Family Coordinator at A Better World. A Better World is located in Farmington, CT. Rachael has been working in the field of adoption for more than 15 years in various capacities including overseeing her agency’s international programs. She also lends her time to various charitable organizations supporting women in crisis.

Program Committee Chair: Noreen Bachteler

Noreen retired from DCF after many years as a social worker, ending her DCF career as supervisor of the Interstate Compact Office. Noreen has been an active member of CCA for many years, and she actively advocates for adoption issues.

Practice Committee Chair: Runa Wassermann

Runa is the chair of the Practice Committee which meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 10AM at CAFAP. Runa retired from the Village for Families and Children after thirty years in adoption and foster care. She is pleased to be able to continue her work in adoption through CCA and encourages more participation.  

Department of Children and Families Representative: Jacqueline Watford

Jacqueline Watford is a licensed social worker, certified ministry teacher, and ordained reverend, with an MSW from the University of Connecticut Graduate School of Social Work. She completed basic and supervisory advanced training with Saint Francis Academy for Clinical Pastoral Training. Prior to joining the Department of Children and Families, she worked as a medical and psychiatric social worker. She was a licensed foster parent, and has worked for the Department of Children and Families for 29 years in the areas of child protective services, probate, family treatment, foster care, and adoption recruitment, and permanency planning. She has served on Statewide Faith Based and Medically Complex Initiative Committees, and has overseen various programs over the years such as the Ch 8 DCF Wens Child Recruitment Program Coordinator, Statewide Marketing and Recruitment Coordinator, and Statewide Subsidy Negotiator.

Past President:  Carolyn Goodridge  

Carolyn began involvement with the CT Council when she was a social worker and then director of Downey Side Adoptions. Carolyn has worked in the field of adoption for over 35 years. She has been Program Chair, Secretary and now President of CCA. She is presently social worker/legislative liaison at the CAFAF. Carolyn is actively involved in the Access CT Now grassroots effort to re-open access to birth certificates to adult adoptees, and she is also a member of the Keep the Promise Coalition for Children’s Mental Health.  

Past President: Polly Champ

Polly is a past president of the Ct Council on Adoption. Polly retired as Program Supervisor of the Department of Children and Families and was Deputy Administrator for Interstate Compacts at DCF Central Office.